the spirit of the 40’s

As some of you will know, this weekend has marked the 70th Anniversary of VE day,a truly memorable event in world history. I’ve always been quite passionate about marking these occasions and this weekend I’ve had the bunting out in style!

My month (or two) of paying little or no attention to my health and diet have perhaps caught up with me. I may be wrong but I’m sure that I feel like things are a lot harder from day to day when I’m eating junk.

So in the true spirit of the 1940’s I’m going to do what some others have done and follow the ration book challenge! Hopefully convincing his Lordship that lentils are good and we don’t need cheese. Its the sweet things I think we will both miss!

I’ve been reading Marguerite Patten’s ‘We’ll Eat Again’ and coming up with exciting ideas for the household such as Mince slices and Woolton Pie. Its basically, spuds, veg and dried beans which became more popular when rationing really hit.

I’m looking forward to it, but I wonder if a diet of cabbage, lentils and root veg is going to be quite so good for sanity!

Thankfully life has calmed down a lot since the big move and we are now out walking a bit in the evenings when the weather permits. Either that or watching the lambs grow and play. Who knows what the next chapter will bring but I know that I’m playing at this, but people during the war lived like this because they had no choice and 70 years ago when peace was declared the relief must have been huge.

VE Day

About justanothersnowflake

I never know what to write on these things or what people will want to know about me, so just ask if I'm too vague! I love life and try to enjoy every day I can. In 2012 I was diagnosed with MS and since then have been trying to manage my life and my MS without letting it take me over. I try and spend as much time as I can outdoors, I love the countryside and fishing and soon I hope to add chickens to our family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

