A taste of the unexpected

Today is not quite what I expected! One of the first things I saw was the first daffodil outside my new home unfurling in the spring. Great I thought! Here comes spring, in fact it won’t be long before Springwatch http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b007qgm3 is back on the Beeb! Lovely! But the reality of my day has been somewhat different. Work and houses, a nightmare combination!

spring time!

To fill you in a little more than the vagaries of life I am moving to a new house to be nearer to my work. It’s a rental but its good terms and we have been given a new kitchen and bathroom for the house and to keep our costs down we have got some money off the rent if we fit them. Sounds great right? Well yes so far so good.

That is until you realise that the house was lived in by a hoarder from hell  who had no idea how to live in an old house.

I think this internet pic shows the hoarding after it had been cleared!

 who had no idea how to live in an old house.

The plaster has been falling off the walls because it was so damp inside and at first we called it the Ebola house because of the mould on the walls. It was so bad we have to wear face masks to start off with.

It may sound a little paranoid but when I had my first ‘doubt of MS’ (for want of a better description) after many, many blood tests I apparently showed signs of a reaction to an old Victorian bacteria found in mouldy houses. It may be pure coincidence but quite frankly, I don’t want to be hospitalised by it again so a face mask is a small price to pay.

So back to today’s saga: The kitchen has been going really well, the cabinets have been going together really well, all the base units are done and now all there was to do was to fit the sink. Easy, right? You’d think so, but oh no! Not for us. The ‘anything that can go wrong will go wrong’ house strikes again and because we were trying to do the make do and mend thing and reuse a perfectly good and robust old sink we have realised that it won’t fit the modern units and would be offset and basically awkward and the biggest pain. I hate washing up anyway, so it doesn’t need to be awkward too! So off we go to get a new sink, £35 for a new one, not quite as nice as the old one, but hey, who’s complaining right?

I wasn’t until we got it back only to realise that the sink is a left drainer, not a right drainer. More hassle! So the boys have now gone to try and swap it over on another mission. They asked me to go with them but to be honest, my head feels like it’s about to pop! I’ve got my own work to do which here is fine mostly except today I’ve needed to do some work on our intranet, this in itself is a challenge as we are remote and far from a telephone exchange so printing a pdf so far has taken an hour and a half. I’m looking out of the window and dreaming of getting out there and getting away from it all and normally the house is an escape but we now have three weeks to fit a kitchen, bathroom, get the electrician back, fit carpets and move in.

that sinking feeling

All before April 1st.

Whose the fool now!?!

What a ranty blog! Call it stress relief if you like, its helping me so it must be. Right now, what’s keeping my head on my shoulders is the thought that in less than a month I will have moved out of the most draughty house I’ve ever lived in and move into a lovely rural farm cottage with all lovely new things. And best of all, I’m going to have my new cooker, that works (it better after all this) and I am going to bake to my hearts content. I thought no cake for the 40 days of lent was easy and it is to a degree, except it’s dawned on me that I enjoy baking to calm down.

So in approximately 31 days I plan to start as I mean to go on and bake a huge chocolately chocolate cake, possibly this one http://www.nigella.com/recipes/view/CHOCOLATE-OLIVE-OIL-CAKE-5551 from Nigella. On Easter Sunday I will eat cake and for now, I am going to leave the office, walk down the drive and breathe in some air. Thank you for listening 🙂

About justanothersnowflake

I never know what to write on these things or what people will want to know about me, so just ask if I'm too vague! I love life and try to enjoy every day I can. In 2012 I was diagnosed with MS and since then have been trying to manage my life and my MS without letting it take me over. I try and spend as much time as I can outdoors, I love the countryside and fishing and soon I hope to add chickens to our family.
This entry was posted in diet, lent, MS, nature and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A taste of the unexpected

  1. Galaxy Jane says:

    So what awful thing does it say about me that I can look at everything you are going through and empathise with what a dreadful task you have in front of you and yet still be jealous because your daffodils are blooming? We are just now starting to get rid of the last of a month’s worth of late ice and I can just see the green tops finally starting to peek through the ground, when they’d have normally been in bloom here weeks ago.

    Like

    • haha, thank you! spring will be here soon enough! And if it makes you feel any better, you’ll probably have a way dryer one than me I live in one of the wettest parts of the UK!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Galaxy Jane says:

        Well, that’s probably true enough, although Virginia springtime weather is nothing if not unpredictable. We’ll certainly have a hotter dryer summer. And I will probably be in shorts by mid-April. None of which I’ll be unhappy about. Good luck finishing the remodel!

        Like

Leave a Reply

