Heritage Tastes, Heritage Vegetables

I read this today and can feel some experimenting going on! Can’t wait to get my preserving pan back!

Slow Money Food

Moskvich tomato Moskvich tomato

Sometimes “old fashioned” recipes and dishes are just the thing to highlight heirloom vegetables or heritage meals. After all, it’s truly the way food used to taste.

The modern food system has brought an abundance of food at our fingertips. While we should appreciate and be thankful for this, there’s something special about older varieties and older dishes. For many, food choices include embracing these heirlooms and the farmers who grow them.

The newer release of Beekman’s 1802 Heirloom Vegetable Cookbook celebrates these options again. Here is an  example – check the book out for more tempting ideas!

Black Onion Jam Chutney

Serve alongside a frittata or fried eggs/meats/poultry

1 red bell pepper cut into 1/2″ squares

3/4 cup chopped canned tomatoes

1/3 cup Black Onion Jam (see note)

1 tablespoon cider vinegar

1 tablespoon honey

2 tablespoons dried currants

1/4 teaspoon coarse (kosher) salt

Black Onion Jam…

View original post 267 more words

About justanothersnowflake

I never know what to write on these things or what people will want to know about me, so just ask if I'm too vague! I love life and try to enjoy every day I can. In 2012 I was diagnosed with MS and since then have been trying to manage my life and my MS without letting it take me over. I try and spend as much time as I can outdoors, I love the countryside and fishing and soon I hope to add chickens to our family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

