Health and well being and all things in between

I’ve always tried to be as healthy as I can be. My theory was that my family didn’t have the best genetics what with heart diease, stroke and cancer being pretty prominent in most generations. I had a bit of  wake up call when my Dad nearly died a couple of times from an illness he had, but if he had lived his life a little different, it might not have caught up with him so drastically. That said, sometimes you just can’t fight your genes.

Since that time, he and I have watched our diet and exercised regularly.  Or as best we can.

Don’t get me wrong,I’m no angel, thats why I’ve given up cake for lent. And that was hard last night when the boys brought some duffins home! 

Duffin – a little piece of heaven!

 

 But I also know that there are some things that no matter how good I can be will get me in the end. I found this article yesterday http://earthweareone.com/scientists-officially-link-processed-foods-to-autoimmune-disease/ which links MS and autoimmune diease to processed foods. I don’t think its of any great surprise that the more processed foods that you consume the worse they can be for you in the long term, but its nice to see some reasearch come out that finally seems to be getting somewhere with the great unkown that is MS.

It’s just reenforced that if there is something you can do to help yourself, then do it. I don’t know if that means it’s too late for me to make changes to help myself but I’m always willing to give it a go. A friend wrote in her blog that it takes 21 days to form a habit so I’m going to try. (and yes, you do make sense, just don’t make me admit to it :))

Only baby steps but artificial sweetener can’t be good can it? And the less chemicals and E numbers I eat must be a good thing. More label reading for me!

The article gives me hope that at least there will be more known about MS and also possibly find more treatments. Who knows, one day even a cure. Bring it on I say!

As an end to this post, I found out this week that a friend died after a massive brain haemorrhage. It’s really sad to think that no matter how hard you try there are things you can’t fight. Be as well as you can be. Life is too short.

About justanothersnowflake

I never know what to write on these things or what people will want to know about me, so just ask if I'm too vague! I love life and try to enjoy every day I can. In 2012 I was diagnosed with MS and since then have been trying to manage my life and my MS without letting it take me over. I try and spend as much time as I can outdoors, I love the countryside and fishing and soon I hope to add chickens to our family.
This entry was posted in autoimmune, diet, disability, MS, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

