cucumbers are not the only fruit

Being in the outdoors is one of the things that I love most in life and we are coming to my favourite time of year. Autumn is beautiful with all its colours, the light and the magic of the season but you can’t beat spring time. When opening up this morning, I found this rainbow. The beauty of nature is everywhere!rainbow

I’ve been working in the countryside for 17 years now (can I really be that old?!) and even though I’ve seen the start of spring time and time again, it will never lose its magic for me. We are well into the snowdrop season, in fact it’s nearly over in my part of the world and what follows from that is just pure magic for the months to come.

I was amazed to hear that single snowdrop bulbs had sold for thousands, and this one for £750 http://www.telegraph.co.uk/gardening/9087106/Mutant-snowdrop-sells-for-725.html but that’s apparently because propagation of ‘true’ snowdrops is so hard whereas the cultivars of the species are so many and also there are so few pollinating insects when they flower that the tend to multiply by bulb rather than seed which is a slow process. Not only are they lovely to look at but they have been used to produce a drug treatment for Alzheimer’s patients.

How much do I wish I could find a random yellow snowdrop?!?

I don’t think I’m going to make my fortune looking for them, but I do love growing. Where ever I’ve lived, I have always grown something and that’s been difficult in the last year but I will never be beaten by circumstance! This time, I heard about the rather exciting espresso mushroom company http://espressomushroom.co.uk/ and thought ‘I’m having some of them!’ Not wishing to be all about me, I bought them for my better half as he loves to grow too. It’s a little like having a puppy though, it starts out as his but really we know its me that is going to do the work.

my mushrooms are emerging!

my mushrooms are emerging!

So far so good, soak the pack in water for 12 hours, and spray it with water regularly and wait for the rewards. It’s amazing how quickly they grow when they start to grow too! I’m taking regular pictures just because I’m always excited when I see another bloom!

Roll on tomorrow for the next mushroom!

This season I’m keen to grow something else though. When we’ve moved house and got settled I will make plans properly, I do quite fancy growing cucamelons, http://homegrown-revolution.co.uk/savoury-fruit/growing-cucamelons/ they’re meant to be good for cold areas which will suit us and to be honest, tell me its a watermelon that tastes like a cucumber and I’m bound to give it a try!

No idea what else to grow this year, I’m on the shady side of an east/west running valley and its got a late growing season, so it will be a challenge, but it’s always good to challenge yourself even with fruit. There is no stopping me!

About justanothersnowflake

I never know what to write on these things or what people will want to know about me, so just ask if I'm too vague! I love life and try to enjoy every day I can. In 2012 I was diagnosed with MS and since then have been trying to manage my life and my MS without letting it take me over. I try and spend as much time as I can outdoors, I love the countryside and fishing and soon I hope to add chickens to our family.
This entry was posted in nature and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

